Skip to content
Microwave Air Fryer Combo

Buying guide

Non-Toxic Microwave Air Fryer: What the Claims Cover

We found one microwave air fryer sold with this claim. Ninja describes the MW101's 5.5 qt glass basket as “non-toxic PFAS & PTFE free.” That covers the basket, not the whole appliance, and we have not checked it. If glass under your food matters most, buy the Ninja. For other combos, brands rarely say what coats their trays, so ask first.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 4 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The short version

Ninja is the only brand we found making this claim, for the MW101's glass basket, described as PFAS and PTFE free. It is Ninja's wording, it covers the basket only, and we have not checked it. GE names a stainless crisper pan, Sharp a stainless interior and Panasonic an enamel tray. Most pages state no coating, so ask.

What is on this page

"Non-toxic" sounds like a test result. Here it is a marketing line. We report what brands say and have not checked any of it. We make no health promises. If you have a medical reason to ask, talk to your clinician. New to combos? See the basics.

Flatbed pickAd

Ninja

Ninja Crispi MW101

The only Ninja Crispi that microwaves, with a flatbed and a glass basket.

Why it fits here: The one combo we found that makes a PFAS and PTFE free claim, for its glass basket. It is tall, so check your headroom first.

Best for: anyone who wants a flatbed instead of a turntable and has room above it

Capacity
5.5 qt basket per Ninja; retailers list about 0.9 cu ft
Microwave watts
1000 W as listed
Air fry watts
1700 W per Ninja
Outer size (W × D × H)
20.3 × 17.46 × 14.1 in
Functions
14-in-1 as listed, including microwave and air fry
True microwave
Yes
Price class
Premium
Size as stated by
Amazon listing. SharkNinja's own page could not be read directly, and excerpts of it differ. Check the size on the listing.
  • Flatbed design and a 5.5 qt glass basket, says Ninja
  • 1700 W air fry, says Ninja, the highest number in this group
  • Ninja claims 40 % more usable surface versus a 0.9 cu ft turntable microwave
  • About 14.1 in tall as listed, the tallest body here
  • Ninja's frozen-to-crispy claim rests on a watts comparison, not a cooking test
  • Space it needs not confirmed from a manual we read. Check the owner's guide
View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

Which combo should I look at?

Pick your situation

What does each brand say?

A blank in a brand's text proves nothing. "Not stated" means exactly that.

ModelWhat touches food in air fryWhat the brand says
Ninja MW101Glass basket with crisper plateBasket is “non-toxic PFAS & PTFE free”. Plate and inside not covered
GE GCST10A1WSSCrisper pan on a rack“Stainless microwave crisper pan”. Coating not stated
Sharp SMC0985KSAir fry basket and baking panStainless steel interior. Basket and pan material not stated
Panasonic NN-CD87Basket on a wire rack over an enamel trayNames the enamel tray and basket. Coatings not stated in the sections we read

The Panasonic row comes from a sister model's manual. The Ninja guide we read is the UK edition.

Comparison: Ninja Crispi MW101, GE GCST10A1WSS, Sharp SMC0985KS, Panasonic HomeChef 4-in-1
ComparisonFlatbed pickNinja Crispi MW101GE GCST10A1WSSBest for small kitchensSharp SMC0985KSBest if you have height to sparePanasonic HomeChef 4-in-1
Capacity5.5 qt basket per Ninja; retailers list about 0.9 cu ft1.0 cu ft per GE0.9 cu ft1.2 cu ft
Microwave watts1000 W as listed1,050 W per GE900 W1000 W, inverter
Air fry watts1700 W per Ninja–1450 W–
Outer size (W × D × H)20.3 × 17.46 × 14.1 in20.6 × 16.6 × 11.875 in19.6 × 15.77 × 11.38 in22.06 × 17.75 × 13.52 in
Functions14-in-1 as listed, including microwave and air fryMicrowave, convection, air fry, broil per GEMicrowave, convection, air fry, roast, bakeMicrowave, air fry, convection bake, broil
True microwaveYesYesYesYes
Price classPremiumMid-rangeBudgetPremium
Best foranyone who wants a flatbed instead of a turntable and has room above itkitchens that want a 1.0 cu ft combo with a clear GE manual to go byapartments and small kitchens where every inch of counter countskitchens with open space above the counter, or no wall cabinet over the spot
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Figures as stated by the makers or, where marked, by the retail listing. Swipe sideways to compare on a phone.

What does the Ninja claim cover?

Ninja's release uses “non-toxic glass” for how it cooks, and “non-toxic PFAS & PTFE free” for the 5.5 qt basket.

  • It is about the basket. The UK guide shows a crisper plate seated in that basket. The release doesn't make the same claim for the plate.
  • Glass has its own rules. The UK guide asks for two hands when you handle the basket, and warns it gets extremely hot. It also says not to put the accessories in another oven, on a cooktop or on a grill.
  • We could not read the US guide. Check the booklet in the box.

Ninja's glass air fryers can't microwave. See which Ninja Crispi has a microwave.

What does the FDA say about PFAS?

The FDA lists nonstick coatings as an authorized food contact use. It says the process vaporizes off virtually all the smaller molecules that could migrate, and studies show negligible amounts can reach food. Grease-proofing coatings on paper packaging were treated differently, and are no longer sold for that use in the US.

So by the FDA's account a coating isn't automatically a danger, and a "PFAS free" label isn't a test result. Choose glass or stainless if you'd rather skip the question.

What can I do myself?

  • Use your own glass or ceramic where the manual allows. Panasonic's chart allows it in most modes, but not air fry. See metal and foil.
  • Be careful with plastic under heat. See the health page.
  • Skip paper liners. No manual we read clears them for air frying. See accessories.
  • Keep it clean. Panasonic warns built-up grease can make the oven smoke. See cleaning and smoke and smells. Some smoke and a burnt smell can be normal on first use, says Panasonic.
  • Ask in writing. Send the company the full model number and name the part. A clear answer beats a badge.

What mistakes should I avoid?

  1. Reading "glass basket" as "all glass." Racks, plates and the inside are other materials.
  2. Treating silence as a warning. A brand that says nothing about coatings hasn't told you it uses them.
  3. Mixing up stainless parts. Sharp's line is about the inside. The basket and pan are listed separately.
  4. Buying the wrong Crispi. The FN101 and AS101 are glass air fryers that can't microwave.
  5. Ignoring fit. Measure with the size guide and clearance guide.

Not sure what matters most?

Which combo is yours?

Question 1

Where will it go?

This decides how you buy.

If a stated PFAS and PTFE free food surface decides it, buy the Ninja Crispi MW101*, if your space allows its height. The claim is Ninja's and covers the basket. If it is one worry among several, start with the best combos.

Quick questions

Is there a non-toxic microwave air fryer?

One makes the claim. Ninja's July 2026 release describes the MW101's glass basket as “non-toxic PFAS & PTFE free.” The release cites no independent certificate. No other combo we read uses the claim, which tells you nothing bad about those models.

Is the Ninja Crispi Microwave PFAS free?

Ninja says the 5.5 qt glass basket is. The release doesn't extend that to the crisper plate or the inside. We have not checked it, and we could not read SharkNinja's US page. If it matters to you, ask Ninja in writing which parts the claim covers.

Do microwave air fryers have Teflon or nonstick coatings?

Most pages we read don't say. Sharp's sheet mentions a stainless interior, GE's a stainless crisper pan and Panasonic's manual an enamel tray. None of those lines rules out a coating on every part. Ask the company about the exact accessory, and name PTFE and PFAS.

Is nonstick coating on an air fry tray dangerous?

The FDA says PFAS in nonstick coatings are authorized for food contact, that the process vaporizes off virtually all smaller molecules, and that studies show negligible amounts can reach food. That is the agency's position. Some people still prefer to skip these coatings, and that is a fair choice.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who is behind this

microwaveairfryercombo.com Editorial Team

Fit checks and buying advice

We are the editorial team at microwaveairfryercombo.com. We read spec sheets, owner's manuals, retailer data and published tests, then turn them into plain answers about what fits your kitchen and what each combo can do. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.

  • Spec sheets and manuals read
  • Sources on every page
  • No own lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we compare