Buying guide
Large Microwave Air Fryer Combo for a Family: What to Buy
For a family, buy the Toshiba ML-EC42P if your counter is deep enough. It is the biggest countertop combo we compare: 1.5 cu ft with a 13.6 in turntable, says Toshiba. The price is depth, at 21.38 in. Short on counter, or cooking on rectangular trays? A 1.2 cu ft model or a flat-tray model may serve you better.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The short version
Buy the Toshiba ML-EC42P for a family: 1.5 cu ft, a 1000 W microwave and a 13.6 in turntable that Toshiba says suits a 12-inch pizza. It is 21.38 in deep, so measure first. With less depth, look at the 1.3 cu ft OptiChef PRO MAX as listed. For rectangular trays, consider a flat tray. No brand tells you servings per cubic foot.

Family size is really three questions. How much fits on one tray? How often do you cook in batches? How much counter can you give up? Cubic feet answer none of them.
Toshiba
Toshiba ML-EC42P 1.5 cu ft
The biggest inside of the countertop combos here.
Why it fits here: The biggest inside and turntable among the countertop combos we compare, with both figures on Toshiba's own page.
Best for: families who want the biggest turntable and have the counter depth
- Capacity
- 1.5 cu ft
- Microwave watts
- 1000 W
- Outer size (W × D × H)
- 21.77 × 21.38 × 12.87 in
- Functions
- 4-in-1: microwave, air fry, convection, sensor menus
- True microwave
- Yes
- Price class
- Mid-range
- Size as stated by
- Maker. Toshiba's page shows the black stainless ML-EC42P(BS); this listing is the stainless ML-EC42P(SS).
- 1.5 cu ft inside and a 13.6 in turntable, says Toshiba
- 1000 W microwave with an auto moisture and heat sensor
- 12.87 in tall, says Toshiba, still under a common 18 in gap
- 21.38 in deep, says Toshiba, which leaves little counter free
- 21.77 in wide, so it needs a real slot of counter
- Space it needs not confirmed from a manual we read
Which large combo fits?
Pick your situation
If you want the biggest inside and have a deep counter → Toshiba ML-EC42P 1.5 cu ft
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want an inverter at 1.3 cu ft and less depth, and can check the listing → Toshiba OptiChef PRO MAX · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a well-documented 1.2 cu ft and have open space above → Panasonic HomeChef 4-in-1
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf your trays are rectangular and you have the headroom → Ninja Crispi MW101
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want to think in servings first
| Comparison | Best for family sizeToshiba ML-EC42P 1.5 cu ft | Seller data onlyToshiba OptiChef PRO MAX | Best if you have height to sparePanasonic HomeChef 4-in-1 | Seller data onlyWest Bend WBAF130K3S | Flatbed pickNinja Crispi MW101 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 1.5 cu ft | 1.3 cu ft as listed | 1.2 cu ft | 1.3 cu ft according to the seller | 5.5 qt basket per Ninja; retailers list about 0.9 cu ft |
| Microwave watts | 1000 W | 1100 W as listed | 1000 W, inverter | 1000 W according to the seller | 1000 W as listed |
| Air fry watts | – | – | – | – | 1700 W per Ninja |
| Outer size (W × D × H) | 21.77 × 21.38 × 12.87 in | 21.8 × 17.8 × 12.8 in | 22.06 × 17.75 × 13.52 in | 21.3 × 18.5 × 11.8 in | 20.3 × 17.46 × 14.1 in |
| Functions | 4-in-1: microwave, air fry, convection, sensor menus | Microwave and air fry with inverter, as listed | Microwave, air fry, convection bake, broil | Microwave, air fry, convection according to the seller | 14-in-1 as listed, including microwave and air fry |
| True microwave | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Price class | Mid-range | Premium | Premium | Mid-range | Premium |
| Best for | families who want the biggest turntable and have the counter depth | Toshiba shoppers who want an inverter and a bigger inside | kitchens with open space above the counter, or no wall cabinet over the spot | shoppers who want a plain 3-in-1 with a bigger inside and can check the listing first | anyone who wants a flatbed instead of a turntable and has room above it |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
Here are the numbers that matter on a weeknight. Food area is computed from the stated turntable size. Counter left assumes a typical 24 in counter, before any space at the back.
| Model | Size | Turntable or floor | Food area (computed) | Depth | Counter left (computed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toshiba ML-EC42P | 1.5 cu ft | 13.6 in turntable | About 145 sq in | 21.38 in | About 2.6 in |
| Toshiba OptiChef PRO MAX | 1.3 cu ft as listed | Not stated in our data | No data | 17.8 in as listed | About 6.2 in |
| Panasonic HomeChef | 1.2 cu ft | Inside 15 × 15 3/8 in on the sister model | No turntable figure read | 17.75 in | About 6.25 in |
| West Bend WBAF130K3S | 1.3 cu ft says the seller | Not stated in our data | No data | 18.5 in, says the seller | About 5.5 in |
| Toshiba ML2-EC10SA, for scale | 1.0 cu ft | 12.4 in turntable | About 121 sq in | 18 in per Toshiba | About 6 in |
Going from 1.0 to 1.5 cu ft buys about a fifth more turntable area (computed), not half again as much. It also costs more than 3 in of depth.
What should I know about each model?
Toshiba ML-EC42P, the pick for big households. Toshiba says 1.5 cu ft, a 1000 W microwave and a 13.6 in turntable that suits a 12-inch pizza. It lists 13 auto sensor presets, a smart sensor for moisture and heat, and a mute button. At 12.87 in tall it leaves about 5.1 in under an 18 in cabinet gap (computed). That gap is a secondary-source figure, so measure yours. The weak spots: at 21.38 in deep and 21.77 in wide it takes a real slot of counter, and we didn't read a manual, so the space it needs is open. Toshiba's page shows the black stainless finish, and this listing is the stainless model. See our Toshiba overview.
Toshiba OptiChef PRO MAX. The OptiChef PRO MAX* is listed at 1.3 cu ft with a 1100 W inverter microwave and 21.8 × 17.8 × 12.8 in. That is about 3.6 in less depth than the ML-EC42P (computed). An inverter gives better control at low power, not a promise of even heating. We only have the listing, and it is premium price class.
Panasonic HomeChef 4-in-1. The Panasonic HomeChef* is smaller on paper, but its sister model's sheet gives an inside of about 15 × 15 3/8 × 9 1/16 in. It comes with a basket, rack and enamel tray. Good Housekeeping named it best overall in April 2026. At 13.5 in tall, the 6 in top space in the NN-CD87 manual adds up to 19.5 in (computed), so check your manual and never block the vents. It also asks for its own 15 A or 20 A circuit, as our circuit guide explains. Premium price class.
West Bend WBAF130K3S. The West Bend WBAF130K3S* is a plain 1.3 cu ft 3-in-1 in a low 11.8 in body, says the seller. We only have the listing, so it is an option to check.
When does a flat tray beat more cubic feet?
A turntable has to spin, so a square pan is limited by its corners. A 12 in square pan needs about 17 in of diagonal (computed), so it won't turn on a 13.6 in turntable. If dinner comes on sheet-style trays, read our flatbed guide.
The Ninja Crispi MW101* is the flat-tray model we compare. Ninja says it has a 5.5 qt glass basket and claims 40 % more usable surface versus a 0.9 cu ft turntable microwave. Ninja says that makes meals for eight to 10 people easy, which we can't verify. That 40 % is not measured against a 1.5 cu ft model. The cost is height, about 14.1 in as listed.
What should I check for a family kitchen?
- The tray you really use. Measure it, handles included, against the turntable or floor.
- Air fry batches. Panasonic says to use a single layer with space between pieces, and to rearrange larger amounts. A big inside doesn't change that.
- Depth with the door open. Allow for the door and for you standing in front. See our size guide.
- Weight. Toshiba's gross weight for the ML-EC42P is 45.5 lb, and a hot tray comes out at counter height. Kids should not handle it unaided.
- The circuit. A big combo on a shared kitchen circuit can trip a breaker if a kettle runs too.
What mistakes should I avoid?
- Buying on cubic feet alone. Sizes are maximums. Sharp's sheet says real food space is less than the stated size.
- Forgetting the space at the back. A 21 in body on a 24 in counter leaves little. See our clearance guide.
- Expecting a family meal in one air fry run. Hot air needs space. For real volume, a second basket fryer may suit you. See combo versus basket air fryer.
Which combo is yours?
Question 1
Where will it go?
This decides how you buy.
What should I do next?
If your counter is deep enough, buy the Toshiba ML-EC42P. It offers the most space we can confirm from a brand. If depth rules it out, check the listings above against your tape measure, or read what size a family of five needs. The full field is in our best combos.
Quick questions
What is the largest microwave air fryer combo?
On our list, the Toshiba ML-EC42P at 1.5 cu ft, with a 13.6 in turntable, says Toshiba. Over-the-range units go higher, at 1.7 to 1.9 cu ft as listed, but those replace your range hood. Good Housekeeping puts typical microwave sizes between 0.8 and 2.2 cu ft.
What size do I need for a family?
We found no reliable figure for servings per cubic foot, so we won't invent one. Measure your biggest plate and tray, and compare them with the turntable or floor. Panasonic's manual says to air-fry in a single layer with space between pieces, so food area matters more than cubic feet.
Will a 1.5 cu ft combo fit on my counter?
It can, but it takes a lot of room. The Toshiba ML-EC42P is 21.77 in wide, 21.38 in deep and 12.87 in tall, says Toshiba. On a typical 24 in counter, that leaves about 2.6 in of depth (computed), before any space at the back. We haven't confirmed that from a manual, so check yours and leave room for the door.
Is a flat tray better than a bigger turntable?
It can be, if your trays are rectangular. A turntable limits pans to what can spin. Ninja's MW101 has a flat tray and a 5.5 qt glass basket. Ninja claims 40 % more usable surface versus a 0.9 cu ft turntable microwave, and says it makes meals for eight to 10 people easy. We can't verify that. It is about 14.1 in tall as listed.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- ExplainerSize guideMicrowave sizes explained: countertop combos here run 0.9 to 1.5 cu ft and 19 to 22 in wide. How to measure, and why cubic feet don't predict the outside size.
- Buying guideFlatbed combosThe Ninja Crispi MW101 is the only flatbed microwave air fryer we could confirm. What no turntable gives you, and when a turntable combo is the better buy.
- Question & answerWhat Size Microwave Air Fryer for a Family of Five?What size microwave air fryer does a family of five need? No servings figure holds up, so compare tray area, pan fit and counter depth. Our pick and the sums.
- ComparisonBest combosThe best microwave air fryer combo for most kitchens is the Toshiba ML2-EC10SA. See which pick fits a small kitchen, a big family or a tall cabinet gap.
- ExplainerClearance by modelCountertop microwave clearance, the space a combo needs around it, depends on the model. See the manual figures we read and how to check cabinets and the door.
Who is behind this
microwaveairfryercombo.com Editorial Team
Fit checks and buying advice
We are the editorial team at microwaveairfryercombo.com. We read spec sheets, owner's manuals, retailer data and published tests, then turn them into plain answers about what fits your kitchen and what each combo can do. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.
- Spec sheets and manuals read
- Sources on every page
- No own lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint